PD hands Anwar landslide 23,560-vote margin

PORT DICKSON (Oct 13): Polling 31,016 votes, PKR president-elect Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim clinched a runaway victory in the Port Dickson parliamentary by-election tonight with a majority of 23,560, clearing the way for his re-entry into Parliament.

Anwar’s majority well surpassed Datuk Danyal Balagopal Abdullah's 17,710-vote margin in the 14th general election despite a comparatively lower voter turnout. 

The voter turnout today was at 58.2%, with 598 spoilt votes, while 49 were unreturned. On May 9, 83.2% of the 75,770 voters had cast their ballots.